top of page

WEEK TWO - Fables

Updated: Feb 3, 2020



The research undertaken this week has helpfully uncovered the aspects of Fables that I'm most interested in exploring.

For a full, unadulterated look at my research on this theme, click here


After a brief look at the origin of fables across cultures, I started to break down the key components of fables in their literary form. Characters, structure and themes are quite specific here - something I didn't realise previously is that fables include legendary creatures as well as your regular anthropomorphised animals. I also noted that across cultures a general respect and personification of nature is involved - from the Aesop's Fables I remember being told as a child nature didn't feature heavily as it's own character, but my reading of the collection wasn't extensive.


Anthropomorphism is an unavoidable staple of fables. Applying human traits to non-human characters seems to be a good way to indirectly discuss human psychology. It's a safe way to approach complex emotions under the guise of a friendly face.


The technical literary structure of a fable isn't something that's heavily documented. In my research, however, I did manage to find some notation about the structure of children's stories which pretty much fit the bill of a fable.


Despite following the structure of nursery tales, I picked up a lot of dark, or potentially "adult" themes running through fables. My research has uncovered a habit in fables of condensing high-level ideas into short, succinct stories that children can understand.


When thinking of fables it's impossible to ignore the moral. Some fable morals are attached outside of the canon of the story, whilst others are delivered in direct dialogue, and some aren't stated explicitly at all, left instead to the interpretation of the reader. However they're included, a key component of fables is the moral, which links back with the idea of more mature themes. Being wary of strangers, content with what you have, noting the dangers of pride, your trust being betrayed, all these things are present in many fables collected through history.


This is perhaps what drew me to fables in the first place - the universally understood experiences packaged in ways that can be appealing to everyone. There's a lack of exclusivity to fables that's very appealing, and I appreciate the ability to pare down a story to its bare bones so it's the most succinct, direct story possible.


My brief dip into artists around this topic stemmed from a variety of things my initial research.

A collection of children's artists, some of them also authors, introduced me to a broad range of styles that are emotionally communicative.

E.H Shepard

Beatrix Potter

Peter Brown


Taking inspiration from the themes of anthropomorphism and nature, I found Caitlin McDonagh.


Taking from my brief look at the Chinese Zodiac Signs and their correlation with anthropomorphism, I looked at the art surrounding these different signs.



Later in the process when trying to visualise the theme in a mood board I came across an artist and print-maker Mark Hearld. I feel like his art really captures the spirit of fables in his organic, natural focused images.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page