top of page

WEEK THREE - Visualising

Updated: Feb 3, 2020

As a refresher for the themes I explored last week, I went back through all of my themes and made a mood board visualising how that topic makes me feel and the imagery evoked in my mind by it.


Fables

My aim for this theme was to capture the natural, as that was something my research picked up on. The acceptance of and respect for nature appeared across cultures, and has come back into the spotlight with the recent push for sustainability and attention towards the negative impact climate change has on the environment. Whilst I'm aware that fables can characterise anything from pencils to the weather, I most associate the theme with animals, and was most excited by my discovered inclusion of mythical creatures. Thus, what appears in the mood board is natural hues, rich landscapes, interesting animal characters and creatures of myth and legend.


Journeys

Perhaps it was the simultaneous researching of all my themes, but when it came to visualising research I included a lot of images in the same vein as those used in the fables mood board. Making this mood board made me confront the same issues I had with finding artists (struggling to show an emotional journey through an image), so instead I started lean into my instinct of journeys connecting with adventure. I feel like adventure endows people with an experience that inherently changes them, and so when choosing images for this mood board I selected the ones that made me respond with a feeling of awe or excitement in the face of adventure.


Identity

When creating the mood board for the theme of identity, I found myself drawn to the conflict of identity, the internal vs external pressures. Also the idea of what's happening inside, and how that defines who we are. This mood board ended up being emotionally charged and thoughtful which I suppose is par of the course when it comes to visualising a psychological subject like identity.


Cats

This was the easiest mood board to make, and the easiest to visualise. The word "cat" makes you think of a cat, but I also wanted to include some of the comedy, beauty, and stress relieving aspects that had arisen in my research. The visualisation of this evokes everything I feel about cats.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page